Welcome to 6th grade!

Transition is the one word that best describes the move from Wildwood to Briarcliff. Not only are students faced with the physical move from one building to another, but the greater transition might be found in the child's growth in personal responsibility, self awareness, and growing independence during this period of adolescence.

Creating a comfortable transition is the core of middle school life. The 6th grade team of teachers, sensitive to the social, emotional and logistical stressors of incoming 6th graders helps students to acclimate by fostering the ongoing sense of belonging. Faced with changing classes, operating lockers, new grading procedures and the expectations for taking more responsibility for their school work, the collaborative effort among the teaching team helps to provide a nurturing environment to ease their way.

Parents can help greatly with this transition by providing some basic support. Consistency in your child's life is a very important factor. Establishing routines at home helps children to feel secure and know what is expected. It also provides the opportunity to develop the necessary skills to make responsible choices. Organization is also an important factor for your child for a successful transition.
 
Parents can help their child stay organized by:
  • equipping their child with a binder/folder system
  • encouraging the use of a daily assignment pad
  • providing a regular quiet time and place for homework
  • establishing a daily reading routine.
 
Sixth grade is an exciting year and the team looks forward to working with your child.
 
6th Grade Team Teachers:
Building First Name Last Name Position Subject/Dept. Grade email
Briarcliff Michael Alves Teacher World Language 6 malves@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Robin Anderson Teacher Science 6 randerson@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Paul Campbell Teacher Instrumental Music 6th, 7th, & 8th. pcampbell@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Joe Foster Teacher Social Studies 6 jfoster@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Cathi Hadjiloucas Teacher English 6 chadjiloucas@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Deirdre Lombardi Teacher Mathematics 6 dlombardi@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Jennifer Peifly Teacher Language Arts 6 jpeifly@mlschools.org
 
CLOSE