authors
 authors
 
authors
 
English Department
 
 
 
The Mountain Lakes High School English department is committed to helping students develop critical thinking skills applied to reading, writing, listening, speaking, and media analysis.  We prepare our students to contend for what they believe and make a positive impact on a world crowded with conflicting messages and ideas.  We focus on close reading, reflective and precise writing, and respectful discourse.  Students will communicate effectively, collaborate thoughtfully, and solve problems creatively with sensitivity to diverse perspectives.  While we believe in studying an established canon of literature and providing our students with a strong foundation in traditional writing skills, we are constantly reviewing and refining our curriculum to respond to emerging technologies, to serve the changing needs of our students, and to align with developments in state and national curriculum standards.  New Jersey has adopted the Common Core State Standards for Language Arts.  Click on the links below for brief curriculum overviews.
 

English Department Faculty
Building First Name Last Name Position Subject/Dept. Grade email
MLHS Alexis Anderson-Urriola Teacher English aanderson-urriola@mlschools.org
MLHS Jared Barbin Teacher English jbarbin@mlschools.org
MLHS Pj Butler Teacher English pbutler@mlschools.org
MLHS Melissa Cesaro Teacher English mcesaro@mlschools.org
MLHS Han Du Teacher English hdu@mlschools.org
MLHS Keriann Eklund Teacher English keklund@mlschools.org
MLHS Paul Henry Supervisor of English & Fine Arts English phenry@mlschools.org
MLHS Jerome Leonardi Teacher English jleonardi@mlschools.org
CLOSE